Community Grants

The Community Grants cycle supports community programs or projects that benefit Portage and Waushara counties.

The Community Foundation of Central Wisconsin offers two competitive grant cycles annually to support programs and projects in Portage and Waushara counties that align with our Values and five Mission areas. Community Grant requests are limited to $25,000; larger projects are recommended to apply during the Major Projects cycle in the spring. Community Grant applications will be evaluated by a committee of community volunteers, with final approval of the CFCWI Board of Directors.

Mission Areas

  • Arts & Culture
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Helping People
  • Wellness


Fall Cycle:
Applications Open: July 1
Applications Close: July 31
Decision: Mid-September

Spring Cycle:
Applications Open: January 1
Applications Close: January 31
Decision: Mid-March

Funds for our Community Grants is provided by the Community Foundation Mission Funds, the Community Fund, the Arthur E. Heinz Fund, the Skyward Fund, the Bill & Harriet Fulton Memorial Fund, the Kaercher Charitable Fund, and the Dr. Robert & Nancy Cooper Fund

Eligible Organizations

  • Nonprofit agencies, organizations, or government entities that are state and federal tax exempt
  • Established community groups wishing to complete a community program or project for benefit of the general public of Portage or Waushara counties

Eligible Projects

  • Community programs or projects for benefit of Portage and Waushara counties
  • Operational/general support
  • Capital Campaigns
  • Projects declined in Major Projects cycle may apply in Spring Grant cycle

Ineligible Projects

  • Annual Fund Drives
  • Endowment Funds
  • Individuals
  • Lobbying/political
  • Debt retirement
  • General solicitation requests
  • Programs/projects denied in Fall Cycle will not be considered for the following Spring Cycle
  • Organizations that failed to submit a CFCWI Grant Project Summary report the previous year
Marlee Samuels

Marlee Samuels

Director of Donor Services & Programs